cover picture
Dieter Reith:
Manic - Organic
Label Mons MR 874-345
recorded June 2000 in Stuttgart/Germany and May 2001 in Sandhausen/Germany
online distribution


Dieter Reith Hammond B-3 organ, Hohner D6
Allan Harris vocals
Decebal Badila bass
Peter Tiehuis guitar
Wolfgang Haffner drums
Dave King bass
José Cortijo percussion
Frank Kuruc guitar
Patrick Scales bass
Thomas Vogel trumpet
Rüdiger Baldauf trumpet
Günter Bollmann trombone
Marc Godfroid trombone
Peter Weniger alto sax, tenor sax
Jörg Kaufmann alto sax, tenor sax
Rainer Heute baritone sax, tenor sax


Track List
01: Bobo
02: Worksong
03: Hotel De Funk
04: The Scratcher
05: There’s Danger In Loving You
06: Street Groove
07: Too Loose For Blues
08: On Broadway
09: Get It Over With
10: Peak Mountain
11: Love Is Knocking
12: Road Hog
13: This Masquerade
14: Ja Ja


Dieter Reith - a wonderful reminiscent feeling of funky and grooving organ seizes hold of everybody who ever listened to Dieter's albums of the 60's and 70's. A hot and burning organ - that was the signature of Reith's performing. The "Charles Earland of Europe" (I dare say) withdraw for a long period from his activities at the organ. But now, Dieter surprisingly presents a new album, after nearly 30 years of absence!
His groovy and funky feeling is still present. He proves that he still can let the organ cook. In the former times, Dieter had gathered a lot of experience with big bands (Herbolzheimer, Edelhagen, Schifrin). He transforms this experience in reducing a big band to seven reeds, a guitar and the rhythm section, but you still have the impression of listening to a real big band. This shows Reith's ability for excellent arrangements.


Sound Samples


If you don't see the left hand menu,
please go back to the homepage.

Back to the homepage