cover picture
Label Profil PH04087
recorded November 2002 at Thomaskirche in Leipzig/Germany
online distribution


David Timm church organ
Reiko Brockelt alto sax, alto flute


Track List
01: WK | Cm
02: Praeludium und Fuge a-moll BWV 543: Praeludium
03: Praeludium und Fuge a-moll BWV 543: Fuge
04: a - m - Samba
05: WK | E
06: Orgelbüchlein BWV 599-644 (Auszug): Christ ist erstanden BWV 627/1
07: Christ ist erstanden
08: WK | C
09: Toccata und Fuge d-moll BWV 565: Toccata
10: Toccata und Fuge d-moll BWV 565: Fuge
11: d - m - Swing
12: d - m - Samba


The subtitle of this CD reveals what the listener will expect: Johann Sebastian Bach organ works & adaptions. Timm playing original Bach organ works takes turns with the duo Timm/Brockelt playing improvisations about Bach's themes.
And these are really two classes of its own. Timm's interpretations of Bach's works do not convince so much. He widely uses rubato, saying he alternates slow and quick, which is totally unlike to Bach's music. For example, the fuga BWV 565 is too quick, which results in a loss of structures and clear lines. Also, Timm adds some figures which are originally not composed by Bach.
Timm's skills are fully played within the other class, the improvisation. He turns out to be a master of realizing musical ideas, changing tempi, rhythms, melodies, and using the mighty voices of the pipe organ to express his feelings when adopting Bach's works. Reiko Brockelt is an equal soloist, and both harmonize in a splendid way.
With a cleaner interpretation of Bach it could have been 5 stars.


Sound Samples


If you don't see the left hand menu,
please go back to the homepage.

Back to the homepage